Articles

The latest addition to planet gnome!

In Uncategorized on May 16, 2011 by oli4444

Well, my blog has been added to planet gnome, so perhaps I should introduce myself. My name is Olivier Sessink and I live in the Netherlands, nearby Delft (within 5 km from last years GUADEC venue). I rolled into open source software in 1996 when I had my own web development company (next to studying Bio-Process Engineering) and I needed a Unix systems without the corresponding budget. 12 floppy disks later Apache was running on Slackware Linux. At that time my desktop was Windows and my server Linux. I soon wanted to have a single machine for web development, but there was no suitable web development editor available yet. So in 1997 I started with the first lines of code for an editor that later became Bluefish. More open source projects followed such as Jailkit, Directoryassistant and the Scannedonly anti-virus extension for Samba. I nowadays use Bluefish more for C and Python programming than for web development.

In my day life I manage innovation programs in the Research and Innovation department of a large dutch governmental IT organization. Large enterprise organisations sometimes have special needs for their software (who would ever want more than 65536 unix groups? well we do!). Many open source developers don’t work in such large organizations, so I sometimes blog about the issues that arise when you want to deploy a gnome desktop or other open source software in enterprise organizations.

That’s it for now, see you soon!

p.s. I really can’t help that planet gnome currently shows two old blog postings. I’ve been told this is a temporary glitch that should go away.

Leave a Reply

