Articles

After 5 year a new release for Directoryassistant

In Gnome, Linux desktop, open source on October 10, 2011 by oli4444

After ~5 years without a release, I released Directoryassistant 2.1. Directory Assistant is a small application for managing addresses and contact information in a LDAP address book. I originally wrote it because I organized my addresses in an ldap store so I could use them in different programs, but my girlfriend did not, so we always had incomplete or out-of-sync information. Nowadays we have the same addressbook on all our computers and smartphones in our household.

Directoryassistant 2.1 is just a minor feature enhancement release. I guess the next version will be major again because right now it still uses gtk+-2 and python-gtk2, so the next thing to do would be gtk+-3 compatibility and python with GObject-Introspection.

Leave a Reply

