Articles

Computer hardware

In Hardware on May 21, 2014 by oli4444

I built a new computer last week to replace my old one. My computer is running 24h a days, so I focused on low power hardware with good peak performance. Next to a low-power computer I have a computer built for performance (gaming and heavy development). Because the low power computer is always on, I tend to use it for some quick development as well. Switch on the display, change a few lines of Bluefish code and compile.

The old low power computer, an Athlon X2 2700MHz, idles at about 55W. Compiling Bluefish takes 43s. The performance computer, a Core2 duo 3.3GHz idles at about 83W. Compiling Bluefish takes 25s.

The new computer, a Haswell core i5 3.2Ghz with turbo to 3.6GHz idles at about 20W (if I stop a few services I can get it to 16W!). Compiling Bluefish takes 11s. This basically means I can replace two computers at once! It’s much lower power than my low-power computer, but much faster than my performance computer!

For those interested in building a low-power/high-performance computer the build specs:

  • Intel Core i5 4570
  • ASRock B85M Pro4 (see this review for low power haswell boards, text in Dutch, but the graphs speak for themselves)
  • WD Red SATA 6 Gb/s WD30EFRX, 3TB
  • 16Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
  • be quiet! Pure Power L8 300W (see this and this review for power supplies that are efficient in the very low power ranges.)
  • Crucial M500 2,5″ 240GB
  • Gelid Solutions Tranquillo Rev.2
  • Fractal Design Core 1000 USB 3.0
4 Responses to “Computer hardware”

  1. Nice, I’m also interested in low idle usage together with good Linux support. What distribution do you use this with? Some reviews mentioned that Linux sometimes has issues with power usage.

  2. Cool article, kudos! You mentioned that you used your old performance machine for gaming too, how does the new one handles it? you didn’t mention any graphics card so I assume you are using the integrated chip.

Leave a Reply

